Potentially Misleading Information

Previous Topic
 
classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
2 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Potentially Misleading Information

webmaster
Administrator
Player opens weak 2 without two honours. When asked, partner states "Weak with two honours."

Opposition knows this to be wrong as the player asking the question has three of the four honours.

What does the player asking the question do?
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Potentially Misleading Information

webmaster
Administrator
Point 1 – Bridge bids do not need to be “always by the book”; -players are entitled to stretch a little either way. If partner on being asked what the bid means gives an honest answer in line with their system agreement, then that is all the enquirer is entitled to know.
 
Point 2 – there are actually 5 Honour cards which recognises the ten as an honour and the usual rule is that the ten counts as an honour if it is combined with at least one of the top 3 honours. Therefore when enquirer says he has 3 of the honours, the answer of 2 honours from partner of the weak 2 Opener can be quite correct.